Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Dobsonian eyepieces

Hey everyone I'm new to all this again and I luckily came across someone from Edinburgh selling a 10 inch dob for £300 only used 4 times and I jumped at that price took 3 hours to get there and back but it was worth the trip lol. her new names big Betty 🤣 I'm looking for help on what eyepieces are best suited to these telescope because it's alot bigger than my first one when I was younger and it's mighty powerful lol my son is into Jupiter and Saturn has anyone any ideas on what filters to get aswell thanks for taking the time in reading this book lol clear skies everyone I've added a wee picture of Betty

16143378851267890121886895132943.jpg

Edited by Skygazerlass
  • Like 12

Half-price bargain, well done! I'd start by replacing the 10mm eyepiece with something better (it's not very good). A budget would help you get better advice but something like the 8mm BST starguider is well thought of:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/bst-starguider-eyepieces/bst-starguider-60-8mm-ed-eyepiece.html

I'd keep the 25mm for now and see how you get on. It's easy to rush out and buy a load of eyepieces and discover you don't use half of them. Ditto filters. Better to use it a while and see what you feel the need for, then buy appropriately. Keep a check on the classifieds too, often some great bargains pop up and most folk on here look after their gear. Your scope is what's known as a "fast" scope so it won't appreciate cheap eyepieces. Doesn't mean you need to break with bank though, with careful selection.

Oh and welcome to SGL - remember no question is too daft to be asked, you'll always get a friendly and useful answer.

• Like 3

1 hour ago, Stu1smartcookie said:

Lovely scope ... i owned a bresser 250 , i now regret selling it  ! You bought yourself a bargain . I can't offer too much advice on EP's i'm afraid as its one of the areas that i have neglected . Therefore i will take advice too .