Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Good iPhone app for coordinates

Hi folks,

Newbie here.  Back into astronomy after a 40 year period without a scope.  Wife got me a nice beginner reflector - Celestron 130eq.  I am aware of its limitations.  Scope came with Starry Night software, which is nice, but I probably won't bring my MacBook outside.  Looking for a good app to use on the iPhone and iPad to get coordinates.  I used to do this completely manually back in high school, by having a halfway decent knowledge of the sky.  I'm sure a lot will come back, but a nice app will be helpful.  I am aware that this telescope and mount cannot be controlled by the computer or smartphone, but it will be nice to have.  Any other tips on using this particular piece of equipment would be helpful too.

Thanks in advance,

Greg

7 hours ago, Gzigmont said:

Hi folks,

Newbie here.  Back into astronomy after a 40 year period without a scope.  Wife got me a nice beginner reflector - Celestron 130eq.  I am aware of its limitations.  Scope came with Starry Night software, which is nice, but I probably won't bring my MacBook outside.  Looking for a good app to use on the iPhone and iPad to get coordinates.  I used to do this completely manually back in high school, by having a halfway decent knowledge of the sky.  I'm sure a lot will come back, but a nice app will be helpful.  I am aware that this telescope and mount cannot be controlled by the computer or smartphone, but it will be nice to have.  Any other tips on using this particular piece of equipment would be helpful too.

Thanks in advance,

Greg

Hi Greg I currently use synscaninit 2.1. Great little app. Gives you your coordinates from phone GPS. Also gives you polar allignment details along with everything needed to be entered on most handsets. Hope this helps 👍

16 hours ago, Gzigmont said:

Looking for a good app to use on the iPhone and iPad to get coordinates