SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

H-alpha Imaging

Snooze

Hello everyone,

I recently bought a Svbony 7nm H-alpha filter and I have been playing around with it with my modded DSLR. Since I'm new to narrowband imaging, I have a couple of questions regarding the results I obtained:

1/ Here is a stack of 7x7min exposures ISO800 (red channel only). Is it normal that my background is not dark and very grainy with the filter? Maybe it's because I'm using a DSLR which I know is not the best way to do things but I was hoping there would be more contrast?

image.thumb.png.b6b9459551c9d45242dea7fb2dd084f2.png

Here is a stretched version:

image.thumb.png.fe0c7e8746708791468848f89380d217.png

2/ How should I stack the images? Just throw everything(whole image with B and G channels) in DSS or isolate the red channel from each sub first and then stack those grey images?

Thanks in advance for the help.

I'd say that is a 'normal' result looking at the time and number of subs. DSLRs often produce these rain like streaks and I never found a good way around it in processing. I had some software that had an anti-streak routine but can't remember which one it was. 

For stacking, you are limited by your data. With that I mean that after stacking you will be able to pull out whatever it is you are looking for. But for this target, very Ha rich, I see no reason why you couldn't stack the whole lot AND separately stack the red channel to have a look at what's in there. You can use this as a separate layer, if layers are something you are familiar with.

/Jessun

• Like 1

As Jessun says, this looks pretty normal for a DSLR with that amount of data. To reduce the streaking effects you could increase the aggressiveness of your dithering. It may not completely remove the issue - it doesn't with my 600D - but it may make it better. For a better signal to noise ratio, you just need a lot more data.

• Like 1

On 17/02/2021 at 22:34, Snooze said: