Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

AZ mount recommendation for self steering high power UV laser calibration setup for a Cosmic ray observatory

Hello! I am new here and have a kinda weird question for you guys.

I am a cosmic ray researcher with the Pierre Auger Observatory and I am building a UV laser system to calibrate some of our telescopes.

To do this, we need:

• Self levelling powered steering AZ mount that hit point to the Zenith with high accuracy (most important) and also point to any zenith/azimuth angle we may need.
  • It would be great if it worked well with Linux
  • Battery power is a plus but we will have 24V DC available for the laser already so it is not critical
  • Can handle a payload which is ~10kg and 40cm long
  • Is less than 1000€ before tax

Is there any really reliable option that meets this criteria?

The mount we are currently looking at is the iOptitron AZ Pro but this is just past the 1000€ mark we want to hit.

I am really new at this sort of thing so any advice you have would be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks

I am not sure what you mean by 'self levelling'.  It is however possible to attach a plate-solving camera accessory to some alt-azimuth GoTo mounts so that the mount will align itself to the stars automatically, without skilled human intervention.

As for battery power, almost all GoTo mounts require +12v DC power, which can be supplied from a +12v battery or derived from a mains powered supply unit.

I don't think there are many heavy duty alt-azimuth GoTo mounts in the price range you indicate.  One alt-az/Eq mount comes to mind, but nearly all the heavy duty mounts are of the equatorial type.

• Like 1

16 hours ago, CosmicRayResearcher said:
  • Self levelling powered steering AZ mount that hit point to the Zenith with high accuracy (most important) and also point to any zenith/azimuth angle we may need.
  • It would be great if it worked well with Linux