Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Double Cluster in Perseus NGC 884 / NGC 869

So last night in the cold after a fairly disappointing session trying to find various things with little luck I decided to just pan around the sky looking for interesting things. When I was panning around Cassiopeia (after finding a suitable stool to kneel on due to the scope angle!) I just stumbled across the Perseus Double Cluster (NGC 884 / NGC 869).

It was an absolute gem and really made the whole night!

I tried a few different EP on it and found the best view was with the 12mm which was able to fit both of the core of both clusters comfortably though they were nice and bright enough to go down to 8mm to look at each separately in more detail.

How I have never tried these before I don't know especially as they are something my refractor actually gives wow views for rather than the frustrations of deep fuzzys and tight doubles :) 

Double Cluster in Perseus

Edited by wibblefish
  • Like 7

• wibblefish changed the title to Double Cluster in Perseus NGC 884 / NGC 869
5 minutes ago, Raph-in-the-sky said:

With a refractor open clusters are really great targets. If you haven't already, try and have a look at the pleiades, the hyades, the beehive cluster, the ET cluster...

I haven't heard of the ET cluster but I have tried the others (oddly the beehive took me a few goes to find!) will add it to the list thank you for the suggestion!

Edited by wibblefish

11 minutes ago, Goldenmole said:

Wow mate that sounds really cool! Thank you for giving me a target for tonight!

No problems, I honestly hesitated about posting as I figured most people would know about this one / have seen it. I had heard of it but why I hadn't tried to locate it I don't actually know still another one off my list :D

3 minutes ago, wibblefish said: