SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

New member seeking help / advice with astrophotography / GIMP

Robculm

Hi All,

I'm new to the forum, although thanks retrospectively for all the useful advice in various topics!

I recently upgraded my 6" dob to an 8" Skywatcher 200PDS with EQ5 mount in order to try and get in to astrophotography (but still have a reasonable set-up for visual).

Have been really happy with the new kit, on the rare occasions we've had clear skies this past month! Visually it's a huge step up from the 6" & I've been really pleased with the photos I've taken, compared to the ~2sec exposures I could manage with the dob (OK, nothing compared with all those professionals out there, but as a beginner my expectations were very low!!!).

I should mention here that I'm currently using a smartphone (P20) through a 24mm 68deg ES eyepiece & using a coma corrector + ES UHC filter. DSLR is next on the list when my bank account has recovered...

I've been 'focussing' on M42 as an easy winter target, 30s at ISO800 & have finally (after procuring a Bahtinov mask) got pretty reasonable images.

So I decided to try out stacking (DSS) & processing (GIMP). I took about 15 shots + flats, darks & bias frames. Admittedly my flats were poor, I used the white T-Shirt approach, illuminated with my power supply torch, but it's got a severe radial gradient & looks kind of green! Anyway, I stacked the images, initially with the flats, but later without & uploaded the TIFF in to GIMP.

I've watched several tutorials, but so far, I'm unable to get anything near as good an image as the original single frame from the camera! :-(