Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Yep I know, which camera......

scotty38

Hi all,

I’ve decided to jump in the deep end and have a go at imaging. I’ve never done it before but have years and years of photography background so, at least, that side of it is fine for what it’s worth.

The scope will, hopefully, be a WO GT81 with its 0.8 flattener/reducer and I already have an AZ-EQ6 mount and iPolar. My “plan” is to use a ZWO OAG and probably a ZWO 120mm for that bit.

The next bit is the question and I think I’m veering towards OSC as there’s enough to learn already without adding mono too so what camera would you be recommending please? I’ve looked at the ZWO 178, 183 and 294 uncooled along with 183, 533 and 294 cooled and compared FOV etc on astronomy tools until I’m blue in the face and will be looking to image DSOs primarily. 

Any thoughts on where I should concentrate or anything that I’m missing please, do I even need to bother with cooling at this point in the game for example?

Im intending using my Sony A7III at times too so if I need really wide I can play with that....

Many thanks in advance. 

11 minutes ago, scotty38 said:

do I even need to bother with cooling

I think you would regret it in the long run if you choose not to go with a cooled camera, especially for long exposure DSO imaging.

I also think the new CMOS OSC cameras are game changers compared with the CCD models that were around when I started down the AP track four/five years ago. If you search on this forum or the likes of Astrobin you will find many amazing images taken with the ZWO 533.

Good luck!

Adrian

• Like 2

An OAG is potentially a complicated choice for guiding a small refractor. I guide a large refractor perfectly happily with a guidescope. Still, either will work.

Going for OSC now makes more sense since CMOS came along. With CCD I'd still recommend mono, myself. The dual band filters bring more versatitility to CMOS CCDs.