SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Struggling with zwo 462

jackp93

Hi all

I’m really struggling with my 462, I know it’s not ideal for deep sky but I tried to photograph Mars the other day but I couldn’t get anything apart from noise. Even at 30s exposure and max gain I wasn’t getting anything. What am I doing wrong?

thanks in advance 

Jack

E7934B9B-EC02-4BB6-86E6-90FB2998D66C.png

Hi Jack, how are you finding focusing? I am new to imaging and objects 'disappear' very quickl outside of focus. Try housing on a bright star 1st to get you close. I have a bhatinov mask to help. 

cheers

Ian

2 minutes ago, Uranium235 said:

Top tip, point it at something big first... like the Moon, you cant miss it...lol.

Get it roughly in focus (make a note of its position), then swing round to a planet or star to fine focus.

^^^^This^^^^

Beaten to it by minutes.

Not sure what scope you're using, but the 462 should be an excellent planetary camera.

The planets are very bright (relative to deep sky objects) and should be easily captured with exposures in the tens of milliseconds. 

I was imaging Mars around October with a C6 SCT and I think I was using exposure times of around 20ms. Granted, Mars is now further away from us, so will appear smaller and dimmer, but it should still be easily captured. At 30s it should be way overexposed.

As has been suggested, either your focus is off, or you are not pointing at Mars (or maybe the lens cap is still on? 🙃)

Focusing on the moon is a good tip (you literally can't miss it!), or maybe try focusing during the day on a distant object (tree, lamppost, aerial, etc).

That should get you somewhere in the ball park focus-wise, if you still can't see anything when you try to look at Mars then you know your pointing is off.