Narrowband

SW Evostar 80ED + HEQ5 accessories help

Hello,

I will be buying the Sky-Watcher Evostar 80ED DS-Pro + HEQ5 mount to use for astrophotography. I am a novice at this and will be learning astrophotography with this setup.

I am afraid to miss some vital accessory and have to wait extra months for it to be delivered.

What I am ordering:

What I already have:

Is the camera adapter I have the same as the Astro Essentials one? Do I not need to buy another one? Is there anything else I need in order to use my camera? I've read some stories about people not being able to achieve focus with their DSLR without some extra gadgets, but that might be more of a reflector scope problem?

Another part I'm a little clueless about is powering the mount. I imagine I can buy whatever is needed in a local hardware store, or are there some non-standard connections or requirements?

Anything else I have forgotten?

Thank you so much

Are you planning to use a computer to control the mount?

APT the free software , can make running exposures much easier. (works very well with my EOS)

You will need the correct adapter cable for mount to computer (I don't think one is included with the kit).

Edited by fifeskies

I hadn't even considered that! I will check those out, thanks.

I'm a little confused about how I will be attaching the DSLR to the scope.

Scope-Reducer-M48adapter-DSLR should work.

But will I always be using the reducer for photography? Are there no objects that are better to image without it? In that case, will it work like this:
Scope-M48adapter-DSLR? Or is that when I need one of these: https://www.firstlightoptics.com/adapters/astro-essentials-2-inch-t-mount-camera-nosepiece-adapter.html

There are so many options, the chance I won't order the wrong thing seems a bit too small for my liking 😅

Hello Vilius and welcome.