SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Autoguiding without GoTo

Hi. I understand that it’s possible to autoguide with a non GoTo telescope. Does anyone have experience of this? I have a HEQ5, RA and DEC tracking mount with a Skywatcher 200p telescope. I would like to add a astrocam to the 9x50 finder scope and start taking nebula images with a DSLR camera. I know this is pretty basic but it’s a start. Can anyone advise if this setup is workable and if so, what software would I need that would guide the astrocam? Also, would it just plug straight into a laptop?  Additionally, I also have the scope connected to the laptop with a GPUSB box with ASCOM driver and EQMOD software. As a beginner I have attempted to connect to Cartes Du Ciel but it does not show my telescope position when I move the scope, even though I understand that the software does not drive the scope, as I don’t have GoTo. Maybe this is not compatible with my simple setup? If this is not going to work out, then is there another way to use as an imager? As suggested before, I know i need to manually get the object in view, but once that is done will autoguiding keep it there? Quite a lot of questions I know but please accept my lack of knowledge? I think the more  I read, the more I am confused? Thank you for looking at my post. Kind regards.

GoTo and autoguidng are two entirely unconnected things so you can autoguide a non GoTo mount, certainly. GoTo does make imaging much easier but it isn't compulsory.

There are two main ways to autoguide, both using the free PHD 2 software. The original way, which I use, involves plugging in a USB connection between guide camera and PHD on the PC and also connecting the camera to the mount using an ST4 cable. (The term ST4 cable is not strictly correct but the term is universally used and understood. It looks like a phone cable but beware, it's not wired in the same order. Buy it from an astronomy supplier.)