SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Which Deep Sky Objects (nebulas) with the moon around?

Kon

I am on bortle 4 skies and last night it was a complete washout with the moon glow (I tried a session from 10-12 trying to hunt for some nebulas). I have a SW 8" Dob. I am a beginner, but is it worth bothering with the smudgy DSO nebulas when the moon is out or focus on other targets? (Orion and clusters looked fine). 

Edited by Kon

A few of the brighter nebulae will be visible but with the moon in the sky they will not be at their best by any means.

Planetary nebulae seem to "survive" moonlight the best. The Eskimo Nebula (NGC 2392) in Gemini is well placed at the moment. The Cat's Eye Nebula (NGC 6543) in Draco is also worth hunting down as is the Blue Snowball Nebula (NGC 2662) in Andromeda.

During the late spring the Ring Nebula (M57) and Dumbbell Nebula (M27) will be on show of course and they are possible with some moonlight around.

Currently well placed, the Crab Nebula (Messier 1) is a supernova remnant but it does not like a moonlit sky really. Messier 78 is in Orion and a reflection nebula but again, moonlight is not it's friend.

If you want to go further afield there is NGC 604 which is an immense star forming HII region in another galaxy, Messier 33. The trick is to find M33 first though, and that is tricky with any moonlight in the sky.

Nebulae are not the best targets in a moonlit sky but some are worth looking out :thumbright:

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Thanks for the suggestions @John. I will have a go at them. I saw M1  when we had the new moon and I went back to it last night for comparison and yes it was just about there but not as much definition as when the sky was dark. I suppose they will all get harder to track as the moon is getting brighter.