Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Lunar binoviewing zoom setup

Unbelievably, we had a clear night last night, the moon was out and nicely positioned/phase for testing my new (and now permanent) lunar observing rig 👍

I've been dabbling with a pair of WO binoviewers for the last 10 months and using various pairs of eyepieces... Naglers, Panoptics and Meade Plossls. All of these have worked well, but the biggest source of frustration has been swapping eyepiece pairs when wanting to change the magnification. Sometimes I like to just pan across the lunar surface at a relatively lowish magnification and then when spotting something of interest, move to a higher magnification for more detail, and this means swapping two eyepieces, which sometimes loses the moment.

Barlow/Extenders can be used, but this is also fiddly as the whole binoviewer needs to be removed, which can mess with balance too!

The answer was obvious and don't know why I didn't do this months ago... zoom eyepieces 😼 Fortunately, I already had a Baader Hyperion zoom and when used with my Mak 127 (my primary lunar scope) at f/12, this gives very nice views indeed. I'd already established that I find FoV between 50 and 70 to be perfectly fine for me and this zoom, although having a fairly narrow 45 degs at 24mm, opens up to 68 degs at 8mm.

Another Hyperion Zoom arrived a few weeks back and all setup ready (see photo) to explore the moon... and then of course the weather played its part to prevent this from happening until last night.