Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First Telescope help please :)

Evening all,

I've been reading a lot of threads, posts and ordering Turn Left at Orion (Which arrived today and I can't wait to read) and had narrowed down my choice of first proper telescope to the Sky-Watcher Classic 200P Dobsonian from Flo due to the great reviews and I only want to do visual viewing at the moment.

I was about to press the order button and join the waiting list, but I read some more posts about Dobsonian's being difficult to keep on target for a beginner. Is it particularly difficult for a complete beginner or just something you have to master?
Also, after reading those posts I stumbled across a DIY Equatorial Platform
thread which might be of help to me. Is this worth investigating further, or should I start my telescope search again?

Thanks for reading and I'll apologise in advance as I'm sure this won't be the only set of questions I have. :)

If you just want to do visual astronomy then the 200p is a superb scope which gives you a lot of power for very little expense, and it may well prove to be the only scope you'll ever want. The downside (or another upside depending on your point of view) is that there's no computer to guide you around the night sky, so you'll have to learn how to find the objects yourself. But it's not that hard to do - if you've got some binoculars then while you're waiting for your scope to turn up, have a go at finding some objects in Turn Left at Orion and learn how to star hop to them from an obvious nearby star. This way when your scope arrives you'll be able to find your way around, though there is a little bit of a learning curve with this as everything in a finder scope is upside down and back to front, but it's not hard once you've got your head around it. Keeping an object in view once you've found it isn't a problem at all, you just give your scope a gentle nudge up and to the right as something drifts out of shot.

• Like 4