Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First time double splitting

As a relative newbie I have been trying out various targets over the last few months (9 sessions so far, thank you UK cloud cover!) as I have read more and varied threads on this forum. Last night was clear and I decided to have a go at a few doubles I had seen mentioned in a beginners article. As it turns out I should have done some further research as quite a number of my targets were simply not in the sky at this time of year, lesson learned, be more prepared!

As I normally start off with Orion at the moment, I had a look at M42 with my new BST 12 and was very impressed with picking up clearer stars and with the addition of a BST short barlow was happy to see more of the nebula swirl detail than with my other EP (BST 25 / 18).

This led me on to my first double target Rigel, unfortunately I tried with numerous combinations and could not split the star. I also encountered quite a large degree of difficulty primarily with focusing to sharpness due to tripod shake which was not helped by a white halo thrown up around the star when using the 12 + barlow. I am guessing the halo effect is chromatic aberration encountered due to my short tube refractor being at high magnifications on a bright star (though I also a short barlow may also not be helping there).  

My next target was Castor, which I was able to see starting to split at 12mm and then clearly when adding a barlow. There were some CA effects but less so than I encountered in Rigel and I found focus easier perhaps as I was being more careful so there was less shake.