Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Backlash repair - EQ3 Pro

Hi All,

With ongoing issues related to slewing in the EQ3 pro it's quite clear that there is some significant backlash.

I understand there is a way to repair this myself; does anyone have details of guide for the EQ3 pro to reduce the backlash?

I also understand that the lubricant is important to reduce backlash. Can anyone make any recommendations here too?

Thanks again!

I've added a few picture here to hel me explain myself.  I'm completely new to backlash correction so let me know if I've overlooked something here!

I've taken the covers off the RA and Dec motors to look for any noticeable misaligment in the gears but nothing immediately stands out.

Dec motor gears engage in less than 1 second at rate speed 1 when alternating direction. Only concern here is that with the slo-mo controls attached, theres a good quarter turn on the slo-mo handle before the gears engage. Should this be tightened or is it a non-issue? If so; how do I tighten this to the gear?

image.thumb.jpeg.ec3feae5e60f44cf9f41d51c364f6db1.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.302ff4d0b470627c80badde1142eac11.jpeg

RA motor stragely doesnt work when pressing west (left) on the handcontrol at rate 1, only responds at rate 2 or higher.  Any reason for this that anyobody knows? it takes the gears about 1.5 seconds to engage at rate 1 when pressing east  (right) on the handcontrol from the opposite direction.  Unline the Dec slo-mo; the RA slo-mo control is tight and engaged to the gears tightly.

image.thumb.jpeg.b1c846e860b569c2f74aec1d66fa6597.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.3a5f68a518699751c468bb1c17ef0e60.jpeg

Would be hugely grateful if someone could offer some insight here :)

RE: RA left x1 not working~ turn the motor off & the Earth will spin & the correct 1x  rate to move the object across the FOV. 😉