Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie, which scope ~£500?

Another newbie here,

i've found myself here after spending weeks trying to understand what scope to get.

I've been promising to show my daughter and nephew Mars and the other planets but also want to see deep space objects and would like to do so astrophotography.  I'd also like a mount that will point the scope in the right direction controlled from my iphone.

I'm still researching but understand that some scopes are better at DSO, others at solar system objects and i could spend thousands on stuff.

i'm thinking a Catadioptric Cassegrains would be a good choice to start, key attributes being the shorter lengths and performance.

The Celestron Astro Fi range appears to fulfil my "control by iPhone" requirement, so i've been looking at a couple of their scopes, specifically:

Celestron Astro Fi 125mm (5") Schmidt-Cassegrain (SCT)

Celestron Astro Fi 127mm (5") Maksutov

would i get away with this?

Celestron Astro Fi 102mm Maksutov-Cassegrain

I'm hoping that if i get into this more seriously i can upgrade the OTA with a more capable unit, reusing the iPhone controlled mount.

Is this a sensible approach?

field of view calculator shows me this comparison to what is i believe the closest specs of the scopes i've chosen

https://astronomy.tools/calculators/field_of_view/?fov[]=1945|283|||1||&fov[]=4562|283|||1||&fov[]=70|283|||1||&messier=31

Any advice and help welcome.

The trouble is that a scope which is good for planetary will not be good for DSO astrophotography and visa versa. A Cat would let you view planets/moon but would be far from ideal if you wanted to do any DSO astrophotography. Therefore you need to think what you really want to do. Lots of people start with a big scope like a Dob. and do observation for a while before moving into astrophotography which can be a money pit.