Narrowband

What is wrong with my photos?

Hi, 
I am a complete novice and got into astrophotography in December of last year, I had some decent success using only my Canon 450D and stock 18-55mm lens. 
Since then I have purchased a telescope and mount (Sky-Watcher Startravel 102 and the AZGTe WiFi GOTO mount), which arrived yesterday. Luck would have it that the skies were clear last night and I had a go at imaging both M42 and M31 (also tried m45 tonight just to see if I could fiddle around with anything to solve it, but no luck), both of which came out pretty dissapointingly.

If someone could tell my what is is that is wrong with the star shapes in the images, and potential fixes, it would be greatly appreciated, as I don't want to waste another clear night if it is an easy fix!
I have read about coma, but also that refractors don't have this issue, so I am completely baffled.

Thanks in advance.

M45 at 1 second exposure, M42 at 20 seconds and M31 at 30 seconds.
m45.thumb.JPG.d3a5d3e2b769907a1eb86184229183f6.JPG

m42.thumb.JPG.94d5b60baa29288914f79b72ddaaeae5.JPGm31.thumb.JPG.1932741dcb5baed59ab888df7d2cc0f7.JPG

I have no idea what might be going on - but I really like the effect!

Best warp speed I've seen so far :D

Refractors suffer from field curvature - but what ever this is - it is far too much - it should not look like that.

Can you describe your setup please? I'm wondering if there is some extra piece of glass between telescope lens and camera sensor?

Hi

Looks like you might be using a barlow that's not needed for the ST102.

If you were using you mount and ST102 in altaz mode I expected the framing more like this

https://stargazerslounge.com/topic/228101-the-no-eq-dso-challenge/?do=findComment&comment=3776550

16102283688001.jpg.b1f081497f1d22ac6eeb3b3884126258.jpg

Through I'm on a tiddy phone screen which might have miss led my comment.

Edited by happy-kat

1 hour ago, CCD-Freak said: