SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Collimation and freezing weather

Kon

Hi, I have a SW 200P Dob and I was out observing last night, orion and its nebula, and pleiades. I have to say i am very new to the hobby.  I had seen the same targets a few weeks ago with great detail. Using my 15mm BST the stars looked sharp but when I switched to my 8mm BST i could not get a good focus on the stars (previous viewing of these targets with 8mm gave very nice sharp views) so i suspected that the collimation might be out (I only had the telescope for 1 month and I had only done 4 viewings). Last night it was around -3C (my telescope was cooled down for 40min). Getting back in the house after my session, I thought I would have a quick look with my chessire collimator and it appeared to be out of collimation. I thought i would collimate it the next day....so i was getting ready to do so...I checked today again and everything looked to be collimated (see photo after the telescope had warmed o/n; sorry no photo from last night). 

My question is, have other members here noticed that at freezing nights their telescopes go out of collimation due to the mirror getting too cold or the OTA itself? Do you collimate outside at such cases and ignore the indoors collimation? Or you do not bother getting out? I am asking since I plan to do some more viewing tomorrow night and it is predicted to be rather cold.

20210107_164356.jpg

20210107_164301.jpg

I didn’t go out last night despite it being clear, because there was very high humidity, about 95% where I am. With low temperatures I think this can cause heavy dew, soaking everything and poor seeing. Could this have been your problem rather than collimation?

• Like 1