Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

1st telescope

Good evening. 

It appears that new telescopes  are few and far between atm. I have read on here that some companies advertise as 'low stock' just so you ring up and they harvest your details for a future sale!

Anyhow, was looking at this 

https://www.rothervalleyoptics.co.uk/bresser-messier-nt-2031000-hexafoc-exos-2-goto-telescope.html

Was looking at a similar priced Skywatcher but it's not available. 

I'm not massively fussed as to whether I want to look at the planets, or deep sky objects. Either will do. Will likely want to attach a DSLR to take snaps of whatever!

2nd hand isn't an option as I intend on adding to my monthly direct debits!!

TIA!

I have no experience of Bresser equipment myself, but just going by the item photos and description (ignoring the boasts about Jupiter's surface), it looks like a fairly typical 200mm Newtonian Reflector on a mount that may be nearing it's limit with the scope and accessories mounted (looking at the size of the mount and the width of the tripod legs, digging deeper I find the mount+tripod have a carrying capacity of 13kg and the telescope weighs 10kg).  I have a 150P Skywatcher reflector that would sit quite happily on a mount of that size (I am guessing it is similar to a Celestron CG4 mount with 1.75" tubular steel legs), so the 200 will be slightly larger and heavier, the upshot might be increased vibrations which take longer to settle every time the scope or mount are touched (e.g. focusing or slewing to a different target) and also might be affected more easily by wind.  A more sturdy mount for such a telescope would be the Skywatcher EQ5 Pro or equivalent, not essential for visual use but more important for smooth guiding / tracking if doing long exposure photography.