Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

How to look at planets?

Hello and happy new year! 

I've added a couple of photos - the moon one I took a few weeks ago, the other 2 this evening. I'm new to astronomy so I would love some advice if possible, please! 

I have a 130 Reflector telescope and get great views of the moon, but the first picture is Mars (with the 80a filter attached) No matter which eyepiece I use, and Barlow or no Barlow, this is what I get. The last one is a star (I've not worked out which one!) 

There is a fair bit of light in my back garden from a streetlight right over it, but it was behind the telescope when I took these photos. 

I'm not sure what to expect for how much detail I should get of a planet, and I don't know how to get rid of the circle from the mirror so any help with any of those things would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks so much 😁

IMG_20210101_203205.jpg

IMG_20210101_203235.jpg

IMG_20210101_203137.jpg

In astronomy you must always turn the focuser to make the object look smaller. Planets will all be very small, Mars may not appear as more than an orange disk, perhaps with some dark areas or a polar ice cap visible. Stars will always be point sources. In your first photo you are so far out of focus that you are only observing the inside of your own telescope. 

You may find something like https://astronomy.tools/calculators/field_of_view/ useful here you can plug in your scope and EP and get a rough idea what it might look like. 

Mars to my 90mm refractor is a very small bright dot normally but on a clear night I can make out an edging of the red colour and some shadowing on the surface. I usually locate it with the longer eyepeice (25mm) then try the 10mm once its centered but it doesn't usually yield much more detail than sitting for a while and looking with the 25mm.

My guess on the images is focus problems, if you were focusing on the moon beforehand you may need to readjust for further targets.