Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Liking my new RedCat - IC1396 at 250mm

Adreneline

I got my second chance to use the new RedCat on Christmas Eve and I've got to say I am very pleased with my acquisition. I am by no means an expert but it gives every impression of being a very nice piece of kit with some serious imaging capability when used by someone who knows what they are doing. I set up to grab three targets, namely IC 1848 (the Soul), IC1396 (the Elephant's Trunk) and IC 443 (the Jellyfish) but despite CO saying it would be clear all night the clouds rolled in just after midnight (no doubt to give Santa extra cover) and so I only managed the first two.

This is my attempt at IC1396. I managed 24 x 180s of Ha, OIII and SII; I also took some Luminance using an L-3 filter but chose not to use it. Because my ASIair had given up the ghost (now fixed by excellent Christmas Day customer service at ZWO) I used SGPro to control the rig, including plate solving with ANSVR local on the PC. ASI1600MM-Pro at -20 degrees, gain 139, offset 50. Calibrated, registered and integrated in APP. Processed in PI using Starnet and then stars recombined in Affinity.

IC1396-RedCat-SHO-DeNoiseAI-low-light.thumb.png.34f5375bbd85dfdfebd151268b280e47.png

As ever C&C always welcome.

Thank you for looking and hope you all had a great Christmas!

Adrian

• Like 14

What a great image. 🙂  very nice indeed.

I wish I had got off my backside and set up my gear on Christmas eve as it was the firsts real clear night for a long while up this end if the country.
I must make it a resolution to get on with building an obsy this year I may be more inclined to use the valuable clear nights then.

Steve

• Like 1

26 minutes ago, teoria_del_big_bang said:

What a great image. 🙂  very nice indeed.

I wish I had got off my backside and set up my gear on Christmas eve as it was the firsts real clear night for a long while up this end if the country.