SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Observatory

smr

Hi,

Just decided today that I'm interested in buying an observatory due to set up and tear down time as well as the ability to start imaging quickly. Overall I think it would be a worthwhile investment.

So I've been looking around at some observatories and the Pulsar seems to be well liked. I'm just wondering if they are any things to be aware of before going ahead and having a base built and buying the dome. 

I've not long had a base built for my new Shed at the bottom of the garden though a base for the observatory wouldn't have to be the same type of build. I'd be thinking of having a circular concrete base slightly larger in diameter than that of the observatory which would be the 2.2m dome rather than a rectangular or square base.

Appreciate any advice as I'm very new to the idea.

Do consider a roll-off roof rather than a dome.  Your signature mentions cameras, and if you’re planning long exposures, then this would require a drive for the dome.  Also, your existing base may be more suited to a roll-off.  It may also be the case that condensation is less of an issue in a timber shed than a fibreglass dome...

...so many things to think about.  Don’t rush it.

Tony

• Like 1

It's swings and roundabouts, I'm greedy and have both a pulsar dome and a roll of roof. I like them both, but different. The roll of roof shed is open to the whole of the sky so you don't need to keep outside. I'm in the warmroom which is nice. Downside is wind if it's slightly windy on the scope's. The dome has a small shutter opening so I have to be in there and move it manually every so often as it's not motorized. Something I'm going to do next year. It is a pain to have to rotate the dome by hand every now and again. I like the dome because you're away from the wind and no light trespass enters the dome from neighbours lights or street lights which is a problem with a roll off roof open to all the elements.