Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Completely new and eager ! Looking for advice on the right kit please

Hey everyone !

Hope your all doing as well as you can be with this pandemic ! Im completely new to this stuff, im looking for some advice on the right telescope kit to buy. I dont want to be spending too much cause like im new and wanting to try it out, just hoping you guys have got some suggestions for telescopes for the value.

Mainly wanting to look at stars (my stepdad passed away 3 weeks ago and my partner bought a "name a star" for him and would love to see it properly) and im interested in see the planets like the rings and stuff too

Any help would be very appreciated ! 

Possibly below £100 the cheaper the better at the minute but dont want it to be so cheap and tacky that i can only see the end of the garden through it lol

Stay safe everyonr

• Like 1

Hi and welcome to SGL

I'm afraid that £100 will really get you only very basic telescope.

Do you know what star is it that you want to observe? I ask because size of telescope and brightness of the star will determine if you'll be able to see it at all with that telescope (this does not mean that you won't be able to see other stars and other interesting objects).

In that price range, maybe this telescope would be best suited:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/beginner-telescopes/sky-watcher-mercury-707-az-telescope.html

Unfortunately stocks are low at the moment due to very high demand so you'll have to probably wait some time before it can be delivered.

• Like 3

The list below shows a range of beginner telescopes from <£50 and up. 

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/beginner-telescopes.html