Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Eyepiece And Mirror Not Aligned?

Hi all!

I’m not exactly sure as to where I should post this, but since I’m a beginner with basic questions, I assume this is the correct forum.

So I’ve gotten the hang of my Celestron 130EQ over the last two months and collimated it with ease. As usual, I did a star check to see if the secondary mirror was aligned (it was not) and I brought it inside and angled it towards a lit wall for better light. When I looked down the eyepiece tube, I saw that only half the of the primary mirror could be seen and the other half was the wall of the telescope tube (photos attached).

I assumed with my basic knowledge that the secondary mirror was angled the wrong way, so I tried to adjust it until the screws began to come loose, and stopped to prevent any further damage via my lack of proper skill.

Any ideas on what exactly happened, and how I could fix it? 

Sincerest regards,

Torutro

P.S: I know the primary mirror isn’t collimated, but I couldn’t get the full field of view to do it properly.

EB9F0B26-5213-4689-A6B3-48E2522AA20B.jpeg

1B7D9FAD-5965-4F4B-BB00-6C3A991D74E1.jpeg

Edited by Torutro

Hi Torutro,  What you have described is a little confusing. You say you have collimated your Celestron, what this means is you have made adjustments to the secondary mirror, using those three screws, in order to correctly align it with the main mirror. You can check this has been done correctly by looking at an out of focus star and ensuring the dark centre spot and concentric rings are centralised when you look through the eyepiece, like target rings. Perhaps you mean something else when you say you collimated it?

EDIT: sorry, my mistake, I thought your scope was a different type known as a Schmidt-Cassegrain, but on checking discover it’s a reflector, very different way of adjusting these. Nonetheless if it’s collimated it means the mirrors are correctly aligned.

Edited by Moonshed