Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Pixinsight - getting started

Hi Adam...  So you have succumbed!   I followed the tutorials at Light Vortex Astronomy - Tutorials which I found very good then got Warren  Keller's Inside Pixinsight and have recently got (on recommendation  of  @wimvb)  Rogelio Bernal Andreo's Mastering Pixinsight which is excellent and available as a .pdf for $25 or ,pdf plus paper for $55 plus postage.  

Dave

• Like 1

This 12 part Pixinsight total beginners tutorial was what got me started.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HIXJJqew6rQ

Pixinsight seems impossibly difficult at first sight. But after processing a few datasets, the basic steps become really rather easy! And from there on you can choose to make it as easy or complicated as you like. 

Obviously the workflow is a little different between LRGB imaging, narrowband imaging and OSC imaging. How are you imaging?

Edited by Viktiste
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, tooth_dr said:

What have the other beginners followed to get onto PI?

Mostly internet resources:

• Youtube videos by Richard Bloch
  • LightvortexAstronomy tutorials
  • Pixinsight.com web site
  • Pixinsight resources http://www.pixinsight.com.ar/en/
  • Warren Keller's book is an ok reference, but isn't really my style. It's definitely not my PixInsight "bible"
  • RBA's web site deep sky colors has a section with interesting tutorials
  • (RBA's book Mastering PixInsight)
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, pc387 said:

If you're into visual learning, I'd recommend this site https://www.ip4ap.com/ run by Warren  Keller.

It's subscription based (not too expensive) but there are some free primers. It covers beginners; intermediate and advanced with plenty of  demo's.

pc387