Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Pleiades and Orion

Daf1983

A couple of clear nights gave me chance to try out my new Carl Zeiss Jena 135mm lens. Managed to capture pleiades and Orion belt with m42. My other equipment include the omegon minitrack lx2 and a canon 600d. 

Pleiades was taken at iso800, and I took about 45 light frames, which were 25 seconds each, also took 15 dark and bias frames.

Orion was taken at iso 1600, light frames 10 seconds x100 along with dark and bias again. Both pictures were stacked in dss and processed with siril and gimp.

Although far from perfect, as a complete novice, I'm quite happy with the results. I'm also pleased with the performance of the lens, considering what I paid for it. Although it does need stopping down to f5.6 to get decent results.

My main issue at the minute seems to be how noisy the images are. I assume I need to up the total exposure time to improve this?

Any suggestions and constructive criticism

are welcome.😁

Polish_20201128_223459049.jpg

pleiades 26.11.20.jpg

• Like 6
  • Sad 1

Pictures from my 600d also have a lot of noise & ISO 800 is said to be optimum for that model (http://dslr-astrophotography.com/iso-values-canon-cameras/)

Increasing the total exposure time will help, as will more careful processing when stretching the image & also when effectively blurring out the background noise.

More dark & bias frames might be an idea too - these can be reused for the same camera settings, so it's worth making a master dark & master bias. You may also find that processing without darks is better (although I've found darks do help with the 600d).

It's also worth covering up the viewfinder, to prevent any light leakage.

Some folks also advocate leaving the flip screen open to help cool the camera, and to minimise the use of the liveview screen.

Cheers
Ivor

• Thanks 1

2 minutes ago, happy-kat said:

Flats and dark flats you could also do and these I find help an image background noise.