Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi all,

I'm looking at acquiring my first goto mount and have decided on the Sky-Watcher EQ5 PRO Go-To.  Stock seems to be low everywhere at the moment so I'm keeping my eyes peeled.

I have a few questions regarding alignment.

Although I will be taking the mount "out-and-about" I will mostly be using the EQ5 on my balcony at home; this will make alignment with polaris impossible.  I'm relived to see the EQ5 allowas bright star alignment (with the scope beginning at north) which is great for the location.

My question is; am I able to choose which bright stars the mount will align with? for example, if the mount asks me to confirm the position of a star I cant see at all from the balcony, can I choose stars that are visible from my side of the building?

I'm very new to astrophotography and would like to be prepared before splashing out!

S.

Yes, when selecting stars, you can scroll though a list.

Somewhat annoyingly, it only gives the names of stars and often not with the same spellings in any of any of my planetarium programs, which can make working out which one it's offering tricky sometimes.

This is fine if you can remember the names of fifty odd stars (I think) but I tend towards alpha Cyg or similar so don't always recognise the one shown and get a bit surprised when the scope points into the trees (of which I have lots) for a target I thought was overhead.

• Like 1