SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Star Discovery 150 vs Skywatcher 200 Reflector

Was looking to plumb the wisdom of this community on this one and see what advice is there for someone dipping his toe in.

I'm just getting started and been using a 90mm Skywatcher Refractor on a EQ3-2 Mount for the last few months. I also have experimented with a basic second hand Celestron LCM Mount to get a taste for GoTo - Alt/AZ style.

It's definitely a hobby i'd like to keep pursuing, so have set myself a rough £400-500 budget to get myself a new telescope that will last another year or two until I get a bit more experience, before investing anything else.

My requirements/situation

I'm fortunate enough to live in the Lake District and have good skies, with only a little light pollution. And proper dark skies are only a half hour drive away.

I'm looking for something that will get good planetary views, allow me to see plenty of deep sky objects and maybe dabble a little with short exposure astrophotography with an old Nikon D5000 I have. 

Definitely leaning towards a Reflector Newtonian. My background is as an Optician, so I'm pretty familiar with collimation and the optical theories behind telescopes, so I don't mind a little increased complexity.

In the long run I'm definitely interested in astrophotography, but it's not my priority (saving towards a new house means spending anymore on a hobby is a no-go currently). I'm quite happy dabbling with short exposure times and learning the basics as I go for now, and I'm aware of limitations with Alt-Az mounts in this area. If I wanted to pursue photography fully, I'd be looking for a dedicated scope towards that goal.

Ease of use on the night is definitely preferred as is portability on trips away. On the GoTo side I'm getting the hang of Celestron's CWI software and the Handset with 3 Star/Manual alignment. Main priority is for nights of star gazing alone or with friends and partner.