sgl_imaging_challenge_2021_annual.thumb.jpg.3fc34f695a81b16210333189a3162ac7.jpg

Secondary mirror keeps tilting and not staying in position after first attempt in collimation.

Hi I am fairly new with telescopes and I noticed my telescope needed collimation. I preview the collimation at the beginning (tell me please if its alright) however after I finished the secondary mirror kept tilting and not staying in place as seen in the video. This is a Heritage 130P telescope. Please help.

Seems that the single stalk holding it is loose at one end, hence it flops when you let go. Does it clamp on a screw holding the focuser on the carrier? There may be a lock nut on the end of the shaft too that needs tightening up so it hold firm.

6 minutes ago, DaveL59 said:

Seems that the single stalk holding it is loose at one end, hence it flops when you let go. Does it clamp on a screw holding the focuser on the carrier? There may be a lock nut on the end of the shaft too that needs tightening up so it hold firm.

Yeah there is a nut at the end, I'll try tightening it. Thanks. And by the way do you know any good collimation videos, I seem to have made it worse.

IMG_20201123_173708.jpg

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

• Similar Content

• By Humb1e
      Hiya,
      I'm looking a bit of advice / opinions on a telescopes for a beginner, but useful, telescope. 

I've gone through tonnes websites and now seem to find my self going round in circles.......
      I've read that an 8inch dobsonian type will do pretty much everything I want without breaking the bank too much / me outgrowing it very quickly.