Narrowband

Hi & Help!

JamieHardcastle

Hi everyone,

My other half bought me (us) a Celestron 130 for my birthday recently.

I have watched tutorials and done a lot of reading about collimating and various other tips since alongside several hours peering through the telescope.

I can achieve a very crisp image of the moon which is awesome. However, trying to get a decent focus on Mars/Jupiter Saturn is proving very frustrating. The only non-blurred image of any of them is a single white-point, non dissimilar to what I can see via the naked eye. 
i’ve tried both the 20mm & 10mm lenses and adjusted the focus in and out all the way.

Any advice would be gratefully received.

thank you, in advance.

I am no expert but possibly that is not enough magnification.

I don't have your scope but I know in the one I do have, if the eye piece power is too low I get less detail.  So seems to make logical sense you might have the same problem. 

IF you go here

http://astronomy.tools/calculators/magnification

You can put the focal length of your scope and the mm of the eye piece to see the magnification.  If I have done yours right the magnification is 62x with the 10mm ep.  On my scope I don't get too much detail on Jupiter/Saturn/Mars below 100x and about as much detail I can get around 180-250x depending on the day.

• Thanks 1

Yes, the mag is a bit low - you might need an eyepiece with a focal length of say 5 or 6mm.  However, Jupiter and Saturn are low, so getting much detail is harder.  You should still however see Jupiter's four Galilean moons and Saturn's rings.  Mars is a bit higher, but making out detail on that planet is trickier.  

Don't be too disappointed.  You will get better views of clusters for example.  Try the Double Cluster in Perseus - an absolute delight.  And the Pleiades is an easy target.  Orion's nebula is also coming into view now.  

Doug.

• Thanks 1