Narrowband

DSLR Focusing tips

Osiris777

Hi all,

So I've finally ordered a mount, the HEQ-5 Pro which will be here in a few days, but as a total newb, I'm still having issues with focusing.  I've been using a canon 100-400mm lens and max digi zoom is 10x in the live view, using the focus ring, I still can't seem to get sharp stars.  I've tried putting a Bahtinov mask on, but this seems to make the star too dim to even see the diffraction pattern.

My last time out, I actually just tried to focus on mars as it was the brightest in the sky, and even with that I was still having issues.

Is there any suggestions to help here?  Is there something in the camera settings that might make things "Brighter" in the live view? (I can't imagine the ISO or any other settings affect the live mode correct?)

Thanks for everyone's help in getting started to this hobby, I'm so inspired by the community!

Mistakes I have made in DSLR focusing ;

- display was set to lowest brightness in camera settings (from the previous session). Yes, really 😉 

-exposure wasn't set to bulb. My old Nikon wouldn't change the live view dependent on exposure, but the Canon does - and so the star in live view is as bright as the exposure time will give you. I had too short an exposure, as I was going to set that after focusing. D'oh. 

Hope this helps, 

Ady

Edited by adyj1
Tyoo

oh that may very well be the ticket!  I've been using an intervalometer, but just for the delay and number, I've been using the internal exposure setting on the canon... so I'll be curious if I set it to bulb if it will make it brighter!  huge gold stars if this works haha, thanks!

Canon live view should have exposure simulation . So yes whatever parameter you alter shutter speed or iso should be obvious on screen. Certainly on my 5d mk2 I will deliberately set it to over expose  for low light focus or composition then reset to to my desired exposure.