Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What do I need?

Hi, so I have a £40 amazon voucher burning a hole in my pocket and thought I would use it for some telescope equipment. I'm pretty new to this so could use some advice! I have a 130eq reflector telescope. It came with a 10mm, a 25mm and a barlow lens. I've bought a moon filter and an 80a filter. I've been reliably informed that Santa is bringing a red light torch 😂 

So, what else should I be looking for? There seem to be a lot of other filters available but I don't yet have an understanding of what they do. Or put it towards a motor for the mount? Or do I look for a really good pair of warm, fingerless gloves?! 

Any recommendations happily received 😊

ahh yes those vouchers certainly create an itch to spend 🙂

A variable polarizing filter can be useful as you can increase the amount of blocking to suit the target (Moon, Mars etc).

But as you have a moon filter and it perhaps is sufficient, an RA motor does help to give more relaxed viewing as it relieves you of having to be tweaking controls to keep a target in view.

Another consideration perhaps, if you only have the supplied eyepieces would be to get a better eyepiece to replace the 10mm and also maybe the barlow. The 25mm is probably good enough but the supplied EPs are not the best. BST Starguider's are well recommended but one would eat your entire voucher. Vixen NPL are decent too.

oh and welcome to the madhouse, oops forum 😉 

Edited by DaveL59
  • Thanks 1

Hi Katie,

Personally, I would refrain from spending any money on filters. You will most likely not get the benefit from them.

You said you were hopefully getting a red light torch, make sure it is a head torch, preferably one that can be dimmed.

How do you collimate your scope? Have you got a Cheshire EP/sight tube? If not I would certainly get one and learn how to use it properly. Having a properly collimated reflector is an absolute must as it will greatly enhance your views.