SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Double cluster, heart and soul nebula - feedback please!

Hi all, I managed what I'd call my first "proper" attempt at going deep last night, with a shot at the Double Cluster, Heart Nebula and a bit of the Soul Nebula.  Would really appreciate some constructive feedback on this; it's delighted family and friends, but if I'm going to improve I need an expert eye!

I took 208 45s exposures, at ISO800 on a modded Canon 450D with Samyang 135mm lens at f/2.8 (ish), mounted on a Star Adventurer.  Urban / rural transition skies (medium-sized village about 8 miles from Cambridge). Same number of darks (just left the camera running after packing up).

Stacked 95% of them in DSS.  Then processed in Photoshop trying to adopt the approach of Trevor Jones (from Astrobackyard YT channel), but I am quite new to PhotoShop so I find that part a little challenging.

Things I like:

- I've actually captured it!

- Generally I've managed to get the stars reasonably small, at least compared to some fairly hideous Pleiades shots I've done through my 420mm frac before!

- There's a bit of colour in the double cluster stars

- Sitting inside by the fire with a glass of wine while the camera ran! (you can't do that in astro-landscape work!)

Things I don't like:

- the vignetting.  Should I have done flats?

- the image still seems a little noisy to my eye.

- the stars in the double cluster aren't very impressive.  Had hoped for something crisper there.  Is that too much to expect from this setup when it's towards the edge of the frame?

- not as much detail in the nebulosity as I'd hoped for.  How much of that is expectation vs experience?

I'd really appreciate any help.  I'm mostly interested in astro-landscapes, but I'd like to become reasonably competent at widefield DSLR deep-sky this at the same time!

Thanks

Paul

1005854484_20201120PerseusDoubleClusterwithHeartandSoulNebulae.thumb.png.3d875ed7cfb8c912b6f35656e24de868.png