Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

General astrophotography questions

Hi all, 

I'm new to Astronomy having been gifted my first telescope a little over a month ago, it's safe to say; I'm hooked. 

With my 100mm aperture, 660mm focal length refractor scope with 2x Barlow and 10mm eyepiece in able to discern the rings of Saturn, the moons of Jupiter and pretty intricate images of the moon (during the rare cloudless night during November). 

I'm keen to continue into astrophotography as I learn to star-hop and I have so many questions the research is sucking up most of my free time! One question a Google search can't answer:

With magnification being easy to calculate for observation (focal length (x barlow lens) / eye piece length); how do you do the same for a DSLR camera? If I plug a DSLR straight into my scope with the specs above with a t-joint, how will I know the magnification? 

I'd also be interested to hear what you think is the best DSLR for a budding astrophotographer. Thinking of treating myself at Christmas (nothing bank breaking!) I've seen that the ir filter can be removed from most DSLRs from home however it would be great to get something pre-prepared. Perhaps ebay is my best bet? 

All the best and look forward to discussing further with you all!

I got my DSLR from cheap astrophotography online who was great.

Astrophotography covers so many areas, what are you interested in? Planets, wide field, galaxies, nebula etc

TBH probably best list out your equipment and let the good people here give much better advice than me

Edited by smashing
  • Like 1

Hello and welcome

I'm using a Canon 450D that was bought at 200$. I'm pleased with it (as a beginner).

About the magnification you can probably find some useful information here. Also, http://astronomy.tools/calculators/field_of_view/ has some nice features.

Clear skies,
Vlad

• Like 2

45 minutes ago, SStanford said: