Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello!

KatieG

Hi everyone, nice to meet you all. I'm pretty new to this - got interested in looking at the night sky as a bit of mindfulness/relaxation during the stresses of the first lockdown and 7 months of furlough. My husband bought me a telescope for my birthday (Skywatcher 130eq reflector) which I am loving, and having watched a couple of night sky tips videos on youtube, I bought a moon filter and an 80a filter. At the moment I'm really keen on looking at planets, and the moon and I've already had some really nice views of Mars and the moon, and managed to spot 3 of Jupiter's moons on a very clear, still night recently. I'm loving it! I find it peaceful, and I'm sometimes a little bit wobbly when I think about how massive those tiny specks of light are and how far away! I got pretty emotional the first time I got a good view of the moon! 

Annoyingly, I live in a city, there are two street lights over my back garden and a massive tree next door, houses all around, so probably not the best conditions, but my in laws live in the middle of the countryside with amazing views of the Milky-way when the skies are clear - once we're allowed again, we'll be heading over for a visit and the telescope will be coming with us! 

If anyone has any advice for making the most of my back garden conditions, I'd love to hear it ❤️

• Like 2

Welcome to the forum Katie.

Oh yes...  don't talk to me about street lights and trees....!!   my advice is to take advantage of having a garden and  learn the skies, how to jump between stars and locate objects.

Once you are out in the countryside, then you will save so much time because you will have learned your way around the heavens and  you will maximise the very infrequent clear spells we have these days.

Maybe buy a decent second hand DSLR and learn the basics of star trail  photography,  long exposure meteor recording and then connect it to the scope....and off you go...