Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Desperately need help/advice w/broken new scope

Got my new LUNT solarscope doublestack today.

However, to my horror it had "snapped" between the lens and the focuser during transport. So it came in three parts: lens, feather focuser and diagonal (see pictures).

There's only three tiny, tiny screws holding the diagonal to the scope itself. One had simple "fallen" out and was lying in the plastic wrapping, so my guess is that is was not properly assembled from LUNT and the two other screws could not hold it together during the transportation stress.

Anyway, I assembled the lens with the focuser using the three screws - all looked and seemed well.

BUT:

1) the focusser is so loose that it slides directly forth and back into and out of the scope. So it does not hold focus when looking "up". Feather focus or not - that has to be a mistake??

2) I can for the life of me not get any proper focus. I am a newbie, so it could be user error. But it could also be I made a mistake putting it together?

Have an automated setup - so the scope slews correctly into position. There's no problem "finding" the sun.

Whats's up? Have I assembled the focusser wrongly? It is just completely broken and needs to go back? There where no other parts lying around and everything seems and looks nice - its just not working.

Should add that the seeing was not the greatest in that it was afternoon and the sun was over an urban district. But I should still see something - right?

Thanks for any advice!

IMG_5561.jpg

IMG_5562.jpg

IMG_5564.jpg

IMG_5565.jpg

IMG_5566.jpg

IMG_5557.jpg

IMG_5558.jpg

IMG_5559.jpg

IMG_5560.jpg

Edited by Mai Ai Bing

3 minutes ago, Nigella Bryant said:

If it's new I would get in touch with the supplier and ask for a replacement. Shouldn't have arrived like that.