SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Eyepiece for Televue TV-60?

Johan03

Hello,

Newbie here with a TeleVue TV-60. I wonder what the maximum useful magnification would be with this refractor?

I need a high power eyepiece mainly for carbon star and double star observation.

My only eyepice now is a TV Panoptic 24mm for wide field/large exit pupil.

Would a TV Delite 4mm eyepiece Yield to small exit pupil (0,67mm) at 90x magnification?

Best regards / Johan

2 hours ago, Johan03 said:

Would a TV Delite 4mm eyepiece Yield to small exit pupil (0,67mm) at 90x magnification?

That is going to depend on how many floaters you have in your observing eye.  I find that exit pupil to be right at the limit for my eyes.  Below that, I have to keep flicking my eye to move the floaters out of the way for a second or so to see something clearly.

There are folks using Vixen HR eyepieces down to 1.6mm in APO refractors, so it really depends on the person and the scope how low you can go on exit pupil.

I have owned a TV60 for over 10 years. It is a wonderful scope for travel and quick look viewing. 

If you only want three eyepieces for the TV 60, I recommend the Panoptic 24mm, the Nagler 9mm and the 3-6mm Nagler zoom.

The 3-6mm zoom covers all high mag conditions and allows you to get the best out of the situation. I have used a Vixen HR 2.4mm but there is little gain unless the conditions are absolutely perfect. I think the 4mm Delite would be fantastic however the 3-6mm zoom is just more versatile.

• Like 4

Thanks for the input!

Plyscope: Do you use the zoom Nagler 3-6? Have you tried it at 3mm in TV-60? Good for double stars?