Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Telescope advice

Advice from anyone would be great. Complete novice here looking at x3 telescopes for planet and moon viewings and nebula/dso. For both viewing and possibly basic photography:

Bresser messier 10" dobsonian

Bresser messier mcx-127 goto 

Skywatcher explorer 200p eq6 goto

Thanks all

However, there is another slight variation you may want to consider......

I bought the Skywatcher 8” Dobsonian - which is F/6 making it a little kinder on eyepieces and easier to collimate - it’s a very capable scope for little outlay that allows you to dip your toes in the water visually.

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-skyliner-200p-dobsonian.html

Eventually I wanted tracking - which is great for both observing the planets and astrophotography so I took the handles and bearings off the OTA, bought some tube rings and a dovetail and it then fitted straight onto my equatorial mount. Voila 😁

84890C45-6EAB-48BA-A9AB-438B19D7C3F1.jpeg.d4c3d58051cc672986fc2ed33d0ced37.jpeg

57 minutes ago, Nate67 said:

Advice from anyone would be great. Complete novice here looking at x3 telescopes for planet and moon viewings and nebula/dso. For both viewing and possibly basic photography:

Bresser messier 10" dobsonian

Bresser messier mcx-127 goto 

Skywatcher explorer 200p eq6 goto

Thanks all

Got to say that my first proper telescope was a 200P dobsonian which I would still be using if I hadn't been in fear of dropping it each time I moved it. That on the goto mount will be superb. Which leads me to a question for dweller25, according to the info I can find, the 200P ota weighs 8.8Kgs, have you weighed yours at all with the bearings removed? My reason for asking is that I passed my Dob onto the grandson but I believe that its collecting cobwebs, so my thoughts were would my HEQ5 pro mount be capable of moving it plus DSLR plus eyepiece? Your thoughts would be most welcome. 👍