SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Getting started

Hi

After many years saying to myself that I want to get into astronomy my wife has bought me a telescope and I'm keen to get started. I'm after some advice:

1) Any ideas on books, websites, courses etc offering tutorials for the absolute beginner

2) any websites, apps etc for weather, seeing conditions etc

3) I  like to plan ahead and have an ambition of trying my hand at astrophotography at some point. I'd therefore appreciate any views on imaging software. I have a Nikon DSLR that I'd like to try out first before venturing further. Previous recommendations pointed towards astrophotography tool but my camera isnt compatible. Ideally open source software, and capable of remote camera control. I just would like to start doing some homework on the subject so that at the right time I have already thought about how to approach photography. 

I live in London so choice of objects to look at is a bit limited.

Any ideas, recommendations greatly appreciated.

• Like 1

Hi Ozzy,

Welcome to SGL, what telescope do you have?

Here's a few suggestions to get you started

Turn Left at Orion is a good book for beginners.

Philip's 2021 Stargazing Month-by-Month Guide to the Night Sky in Britain & Ireland will show you what's in the sky each month.

Stellarium is a free planetarium software

For weather forecasts Clear Outside is pretty good. I also use Metcheck and Meteoblue.

Making Every Photon Count - Steve Richards is a great book for those wanting to look into astrophotography

Good luck & clear skies in your astronomy adventures

Cheers

Dave

• Like 1

38 minutes ago, OzzyT6 said:

Hi

After many years saying to myself that I want to get into astronomy my wife has bought me a telescope and I'm keen to get started. I'm after some advice:

1) Any ideas on books, websites, courses etc offering tutorials for the absolute beginner