Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skyliner 250PX and viewing planets (eyepieces)

Hello, 

Total beginner, UK based. I bought a Skyliner 250PX at the beginning of the year and had some joy looking at the moon.

I have the two stock 10 and 25mm eyepieces that came with the scope and I bought an Omegon 6mm

Tonight I managed to use the 6mm to look at Saturn and can see the rings. I also looked at Mars (and I think Jupiter), but they were just small bright spots, couldn't really see many distinguishing features.

Couple of questions:

1. I find that things move quite quickly out of view and find it quite hard to adjust the scope into a precise position. I'll adjust it and if I let go, it moves slightly. So I always have to hold it to try and keep the things in view. Any tips to try and get a more precise movement.

2. If I want to get greater magnification to see the rings of Saturn more clearly or see Mars better, what's the best approach. A magnification accessory or another eyepiece (or both)?

I saw this recommended on another thread, would it work with the Skyliner and my eyepiece? Anything better? Don't really have a budget.

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/barlows/baader-classic-q-225x-barlow.html

Thanks in advance for any advice and your patience.

Hey Climbingmagnet

Welcome to SGL

1-  the most accurate way of following targets that you will find move quite fast across your field of view at higher magnifications ,is to buy a computerised goto system that will move to track your target- these can be quite an expensive upgrade- failing this you will need to manually track the object as you have already started doing- the more you practice the better you will get