SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Which Dedicated Astro Camera - Help Needed :)

Stuf1978

Hi All,

Apologies for the long post and I’m sure this has probably been covered numerous times but I’m trying to get it clear in my head (I'm still relatively new to this so it’s taking me a while to get my head around it).

I’m looking to upgrade my dslr (450D mod) to a cooled astro cam in the next few months. I’m currently imaging with a SW ED72 with OVL flattener (so 420mm FL) and a range of Canon EF lenses ranging  from 24mm up to 300mm focal length. These are all used on a SW HEQ5 Pro running EQMOD and APT so image capture will remain the same. I’ll probably be going down the OSC route as I like the simplicity of it, and it isn’t such a massive change from what I’m currently doing. I’m already using a ZWO ASI120MM Mini for guiding so was looking at sticking with ZWO for compatibility reasons  as I like the idea of being able to connect the guide camera to the main imaging camera to simplify cable management (not sure this could be done if I used a different brand of camera?). At some point I also want to add a couple more OTA’s to my collection for more focal length (e.g. SW ED80) and more widefield (e.g. Redcat) in order to be less reliant on camera lenses.

I was just going to order the ZWO ASI294MC Pro and be done with it as the field of view isn’t too dissimilar to my current dslr which I like. However, I then got reading about under sampling/oversampling and this got me concerned over image quality at short focal lengths. So, I started looking at other options (183 and 533 MC Pro).