Narrowband

Celestron powerseeker 70AZ 3x focus

What barlow and eye piece would be best for seeing jupiter and saturn? I also focused on the moon well with a 20mm eye piece, but could'nt get any closer focus at all through the 20mm and 3x barlow (that came with the scope). Im pretty new to this so any helpful advice would be great, thanks!20201025_234935.thumb.jpg.4e6a2e27751d4a120085a40f90a8ffae.jpg

Hi

Great to see you got the Moon.

What eyepieces do you have?

The magnification is the telescope focal length / the eyepiece focal length

700/20 = x35

With the barlow (700*3)/20 = x105

Often a smaller sharp image is easier to observe then a bigger softer blurry image.

I have a 20mm and a 4mm eye piece, and the 3x barlow. I just ordered a 2x barlow for the 20mm eye piece, ive also tried mars but im pretty sure the 3x barlow is really bad. Couldn't see anything at a focus point, thanks for replying and the compliment!

Edited by Maxb

Does your scope give an erect image when used in the daytime?

My LT70AZ has a plastic diagonal that is erecting and mediocre in night use so I purchased a star diagonal to use with it instead:
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32881221402.html?spm=a2g0o.productlist.0.0.54138306lLwVpv&algo_pvid=f5587306-8516-4db9-852f-931bbc265a13&algo_expid=f5587306-8516-4db9-852f-931bbc265a13-0&btsid=0b0a555c16039867688276822e75fb&ws_ab_test=searchweb0_0,searchweb201602_,searchweb201603_

Also the stock eyepieces I've never used knowing they won't be great but I already have a couple sets of decent Plossls and others. A 3x barlow would be pushing it and as you say is likely poor quality anyway and the 4mm is probably of limited use and won't be viable with a barlow. The 20mm will be usable tho as you've found, well done on the pic 🙂