Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Sister stretch!

Rustang

If any one fancies a stretch it would really help me out. Ive been struggling with this data all night, I have never done a star mask before to help tame the stars but I just cant seem to get a good result. I'm not sure once again if my flats have worked either! On the plus side, the guiding went really well after doing some cable adjustments and some setting tweek's so I'm really pleased about that.

The data contains no Dark's as I'm hoping the dithering has worked this time! It's only 3hrs worth so not expecting miracles but hopefully something nice

TheSevenSisters2.TIF

Edited by Rustang

I had a very quick process with PI and came up with this.

It's not the best because I didn't have the time to do some processes I would normally.

There's a dust bunny in the top left of the image and some vignetting around the edges. There's also a green area just below the lowest of the brightest stars and I can't figure out what that is. 

There's good nebulosity captured though and given more time I could have done better with with that. 

I don't think I've really done the image justice, I may have another go tomorrow, but time to hit the sack just now. ;)

TheSevenSisters2.png.8210de90ca026d131910e94f04ad0749.png

• Thanks 1

Thanks for having a stab, yeah the dust bunny seems a regular thing now I can't shift, might be flats not working. The green annomerly I'm not sure about either. The blue/green background haze (not the little green spot we know about!) is that supposed to be there? It came through very strong on my edit which I was concerned was another issue!? 

Edited by Rustang

2 minutes ago, ollypenrice said:

For some reason none of my programs will open your TIFF. Odd.

Even odder... I could read the file (with PixInsight) but any attempt to screen stretch, or the like, resulted in an error...

Tony

• Like 1

1 minute ago, AKB said: