SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Yet another eyepiece question...(sorry!)

So, I'm buying an Altair Astro 102ED F7 scope, and I'm a complete newbie so I'm stuck on eyepieces. Got a diagonal lined up which will take 1.25" eyepieces. I'm mildly short-sighted and wear glasses to correct this, and although I have been told that I shouldn't need glasses with the scope - I still want a decent eye relief just in case. 

Other than that? I really don't know! My goal is to observe both planets and the moon and DSOs, at least as much as I can with a 102 refractor. I'm interested in zoom lenses as well - does anyone have any recommendations? 

It really depends on your budget, but I would always recommend the OVL Hyperflex zoom https://www.firstlightoptics.com/ovl-eyepieces/hyperflex-72mm-215mm-eyepiece.html as it is such an amazing eyepiece - I wish someone had recommended it to me when I (re)started. It has decent eye-relief, and a very clear image. It's also less massive than many zooms. With the addition of a wide field eyepiece like a 32mm Celestron Omni https://www.firstlightoptics.com/celestron-eyepieces/celestron-omni-plossl-eyepiece.html you've pretty much got all bases covered for about £100. If you want to go for higher magnifications the Baader classic Q barlow works very well with the Hyperflex apparently (mine is still on order) https://www.firstlightoptics.com/barlows/baader-classic-q-225x-barlow.html

Of course you can spend vastly more than this - some eyepieces run to over £500 for a single fixed focal length, but the Hyperflex is a very good eyepiece for not too much money.

David

Hi

Nice choice of telescope, I have an Altair this size. Your budget needs mentioning so you can be pointed in the right direction.

I started with Explore Scientific 
24mm 68 deg gives about 30x.
14mm 82 degrees about 51x.  8.8mm 82 deg about 81x.
6.7mm  82 deg about 106x. 
4.7mm 82 deg gives 152x.