SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Eyepieces

Hi all, newbie here looking for advice, I have acquired a Saxon 767az, I know its crap !! ( knew this b4 buying, but got for pennies) So EXTREMELY cheap starter option !! Now the eyepieces are just about completely useless so looking for suggestions for better options please, I have stock item x3 Barlow, 25mm,12.5, and a 6mm, and erector, now apart from 25mm which is clouded up junk , others are next to useless, lucky to get a half decent look at a clear moon view, let alone saturn, mars etc, so I was thinking of looking for an upgrade at something around 23-30mm for looking at mainly planets Dso,s will just have to wait 🤪so all suggestions appreciated ( apart from throw it in bin 🤣)

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Re the eyepieces, does it take the regular 1.25-inch eyepieces?

Depending on your budget you might consider a zoom eyepiece, that way you get a whole range for a single price and unit. Something like a 7-21mm or 8-24mm might suit which would get you a range of x30-88 ish. Quite likely the barlow is junk too so adding a decent 2x barlow may be worth doing. Decent single eyepieces would be around £50 each for BST's so which way you go would depend on budget and can quickly add up when you build a collection of these.

Something like the SVbony SV135 7-12mm zoom might work fine in this scope and is reportedly good.

For your current eyepieces you might get a result by cleaning the lenses tho dismantling to get all the internal glass clean can be a bit daunting and needs care so you can reassemble in the correct order and orientation.

Edited by DaveL59

You might also want to check collimation on that Newtonian with a cheshire.  This is assuming it has the ability to be collimated.