Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

PHD2 Madness! Help!

I am flummoxed with my guiding. I had PD2 working nicely but the last 3 or 4 times I've been out the guiding has been absolutely nuts. Here's my graph:

PHD2.png.64dc06ac46e134f60df7ded0950c3886.png

Note the scale is at +/-16 and it's still off the scale. If I try any long exposures it's a wobbly mess. No guiding seems better!

I thought my polar alignment was off so I have tried every type of alignment in PHD2 and can't get the graph to settle. I then even went out and bought a Polemaster and it seems to be spot on.

This is PHD2 through Astroberry, on HEQ5 and a Skywatcher 50ED guidescope. Nothing has changed as far as I can tell.

Any ideas where to start?

• Like 1

What mount ?

Almost looks like something sticking then after a lot of correction pulses it moves with a jerk and over corrects getting worse every time it happens.

I am no expert but plenty on here very good with PHD2 but probably will need more info such as some Guidelogs and how you are guiding (i.e. ST4 or ASCOM/INDI).

Steve

• Like 1

Cheers all, I think there was a much less sinister and much stupider reason. I can't think why this didn't come to mind before but I pointed the scope at Vega, which is nice and bright on my main scope and there was nothing on my guide cam. Then I played with the focus ring and realised it was massively, massively out of focus. What I thought were stars must be noise, or some pattern that appears when the focus is off. I refocused right down and now I'm looking at more like 2". Still not perfect, but the sky was very hazy last night.

Can't believe I missed that, no idea why the focus was off massively, but there it is.

On 26/10/2020 at 17:00, michael8554 said:

On the bottom line of the PHD2 screen grab there is "Dark" displayed in red.

This means you haven't created, or aren't using, a Dark Library for the guidecam, so locking onto hot pixels etc is a strong possibility........

Michael