SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

SW Explorer 150P DS and EQ3 Pro Goto

Hi

i am just starting out and have bought a second-hand SW EQ3 Pro Goto mount with aluminium legs.  I have ordered a SW Explorer 150 P DS telescope as I want to view and attach a mirrorless camera for photography.  I am now concerned that this may be too heavy for the mount.  I’ve checked SW website and whilst they say the max load for the mount is just 5.5 kg and the scope itself weights 6kg, they also suggest this EQ3 mount for this telescope.  I’m confused.  

Do any members have this set up already?  Appreciate any comments.  Thanks

I am no expert, but I went for the 150P-DS with the HEQ5 mount. My thinking was that the OTA is already 6kg, so by the time you add a finder, a decent eyepiece, a DSLR (if you’re into photography), and a few adaptors, filters etc, you are way over the capacity of the EQ3. Luckily I had enough to fund it due to saving some cash during lockdown!

From what I could gather most people say it's ok for visual but not photography. However on the basis of money being tight I got the 150p on EQ3 have ordered motors and intend having a go with my dslr. 

I won't be the first look around and others have had good results. 

Not everyone can afford expensive kit and fair play I'm going to have to accept my results won't be spectacular. But then again they will only have to please me my friends and family and I'll have fun trying 

• Like 1

My setup is similar, but not identical - a 150PL on an EQ3 Pro, and that's quite heavy enough thank you, to carry as one item. Yes you can take the tube out seperately, and each time you do this the angled screw on the mount takes another chunk out of the dovetail. Mine's already graunched quite badly, and I've already had it almost fall off the mount when fastening it in place. I never figured a method of adding a decent dovetail clamp to the EQ3 that won't foul up the DEC motor mounting.