Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

C# Help please!

blinky

I think there may well be a few questions asked in this thread......  Im pretty much a complete beginner when it comes to c# and programming in general.  I have dabbled in the past but that was a few years ago and I think Ive forgotten everything I learned back then!

Im looking to write some code that will operate via an Arduino a roll of roof - this is going to be built next year but Im starting on the software at the moment....

So, I want to get a list of the available com ports and populate a list box with this to allow the user to select, then connect to that port.  Ive created a ObservatorySerialPort class and have a method (think thats the terminology) to get a list of the com ports:

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.IO.Ports;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Threading.Tasks;

namespace ObservatoryControl
{
    class ObservatorySerialPort
    {       
        public string[]  GetAvailableComPorts()
        {
           string[] ListOfSerialPorts = SerialPort.GetPortNames();
           return ListOfSerialPorts;            
        }
    } 

}
I then have a Win form, with a button and in the button click method I want to call ObservatorySerialPort.GetAvailableComPorts() method to populate the list box:

private void ButtonQuerySerialPort_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            ListOfSerialPports = ObservatorySerialPort.GetAvailableComPorts();
        }

But this gives me an error: An object reference is required for the non static field - Im now lost! What do I need to do to fix this?

Method you are trying to call is not static / class method, this means you need to have instance of the class in order to call that method.

Here is what you should do:

private void ButtonQuerySerialPort_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
{

ObservatorySerialPort myPort = new ObservatorySerialPort();