SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

CELESTRON NEXSTAR 130 SLT

Hello everyone,

I'm new and just starting with my new telescope -  Wondering what eye piece magnification use with 2x Barlow would I need to view the details of Mars, Saturn, Venus, pluto

I bought a kit with various eye pieces and accessories

I have have 6mm, 8mm, 9mm, 13mm, 17mm, 25mm and 32 mm. Barlow x2 and various filter lenses green, yellow, orange etc...etc.

Please help with good advise for I'm new at this...

Thanks

Hi @PATRIOT SKYNET and welcome to SGL. :hello2:

I tend to do avoid buying a kit/set of eyepieces and buy individual. Eyepiece design like photographic lenses
include wide, zoom, etc., and can cost more than the kit/set you have. Apologies it it sounds negative.

To get any decent detail from the planets you ideally need...

• clear dark skies
  • dark adapted eyes
  • larger aperture 'scope... for Pluto... bigger still... average magnitude 14.0...
    and even then it is only a pin-point of light.
  • Like 1

The phases of Venus will be visible I think

Jupiter, Saturn and Mars will be visible with some detail in descending size.

The rest will be very very small.

It's better to have a sharp image then a bigger blurry one so be careful as you chase magnification when observing. Stay at the eyepiece observing and more may become apparent.

Start with your lowest powered like the 32mm to locate a planet, aim for bigger ones to start, then raise the magnification though with the planets low in the sky they'll be not very stable so may wobble lots some nights.

Edited by happy-kat
  • Like 3

• 2 weeks later...