SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hi All, newbie here

Well,  finally took the plunge and ordered a telescope  (skywatcher Evostar 150 +Eq6 mount) but nobody  can supply one till December / new year!! 

where have all the telescopes gone???? 

I  live on Exmoor 1000ft above sea level so it'll be a bit chilly on clear nights (approx 3 degrees C cooler than at sea level) but amazing clear nights with no light pollution,  hence why buying a (hopefully)  decent scope.

Done loads of research for observation targets,  anyone any thoughts on what the real potential could be in reality???? 

If all goes well I hope to progress towards imaging and remote control  - so I can drive it all from the warmth of my shed. 

Any thoughts comments advice gratefully received. 

Thanks. 

You could do far worse than try the targets described in this review of the 150 by Sky At Night magazine.

An obvious target right now would be Mars, it'll still be around in December only dimmer and smaller than right now.  By the time you get your scope the main feature of the sky will be Orion, perhaps one of the most interesting targets for most amateur telescopes, spend plenty of time exploring the nebulae and surrounding objects.  Look out for Alberio, the yellow / blue double, explore Cassiopeia too for plenty of great looking clusters.  In the new year Auriga will be rising high, some very nice targets there too. 

Mars is pretty much stealing the show as far as planets are concerned, the others are languishing low to the horizon so not that great at the moment.  Worth seeing if you can spot Neptune and Uranus though, they should still look the same (small coloured dots or tiny discs), and Saturn despite the atmospheric shimmer.